Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:55 p.m. - 2009-01-30
Meniscus surgeries are a cinch
Good afternoon little diaryland invaders....

I just read back in this little online journal to my other meniscus fix way back in 2002, and let me tell you how much better I am today than I was the day after that one!!!

Could be because I'm taking care of myself...had too, because my nurse keeps leaving me.

I made it through surgery fine. What the doctor found in there was a tear on both sides of the meniscus's so he did a total meniscusectomy....(yes I'm sure that's not spelled right) probably not even the right term... I came out of the anthestetic with the nice nurse (as opposed to the one that I married and is supposed to be taking care of me now) was telling me to cough...so I'm assuming they removed the breathing tube at that time. I was in recovery with maybe two ice chips for a whole 10 more minutes, and then taken out to the recliner. Where I immediately started puking...something about riding on a moving gurney....gets me everytime.

I sit in the recliner, which was as green as my face for about an hour and they send me home...goody more movement. But, I had put a 7up in the van when we left home. Roads were shit...going down AND coming home. Guess that's why my home nurse makes a better DOT worker than a nurse, cause he knows what areas to look out for....I realized as soon as I got in the van that I had made the wrong choice of vehicles to ride home in. Something about the smell of old person urine and the out house deodorizer I let melt the plastic on the sunvisor didn't mix with an already nauseous me.... But, I made it home.

It soon became apparent to me, that the woman who gave birth to me is all talk. Ben called her on the ride home to let her know that everything was fine (like she asked...) and she was at a soup supper at a neighboring park, said she couldn't hear him, and would call back later...she never did. She sent a flower to me this morning, and finaly called here a few minutes ago. I see she cared...

Ben gets a call to go to work at midnight, and regardless of the fact that we were told I wasn't to be left alone for the first 24 hours, he went. I was fine....there was only one incident that I called him and he stopped home to help me with about 6:00 this morning. Good thing he was close.

So, that's this surgery in a nutshell...I've spent more than my alotted time on the computer, and with my knee down...I should get it back up and ice back on it...

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!