Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 p.m. - 2008-07-20
Mighty Red Wagon
I realized today that I drive
"The Mighty Jimmy"....not just the "jimmy" anymore....

We spent the last week at Don Williams, camping..fishing...stain glassing...boating...shopping...entertaining...ect... I loved every minute of it this year! And I wish with all my heart that I could afford to do it forever! But, alas, this morning came, and we had to head home.

The problem started Thursday evening, when we had a massive Thunderstorm..one that created lakes around our camper...it dried out...almost...and Then the rains came again last night...I thought at one point the camper was going to end up in the lake the way the rain was running down the side of the hill and across our lot...we were camping in a river...

Ben watched and watched other campers leaving this morning...they all got out fine...but, they all were being pulled with 4 wheel drives. He got worried. Not me...nope, We were driving dad's 1990 F350 Ford Dually...in my opinion the other guys were whimps with 4 wheel drive...we had 6 wheels..Ben did not share my theory at all...sigh...

Finally his time came...the heavy 32ft fifth wheel was connected to the Ford, and he gave it his best shot...it pulled for approximately 6 ft...then hit the mud and mighty casey struck out......

Wally, my dad's old friend from the campground came up with a tow strap, and I thought...yeah, but, how's that gonna work. Then Ben told me I was going to pull him out..."WHAT??? My little GMC JIMMY is going to do WHAT???" Next thing I knew the tow straps were attached, and I was given instructions...Low and behold my little girl pulled that BIG ASSED TRUCK and CAMPER out onto the road!

I guess the 4 wheel drive in "THE MIGHTY JIMMY" is stronger than that big ole FORD with 6 wheels!!

Who woulda thunk!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!