Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:56 p.m. - 2007-06-17
aebilskeivers
I do believe the new Chicago Cubs coach for 2007 is teaching the players "something"...(I've not given up hope on my team yet, and I won't until my trip to Chicago to actually see in person what Wrigley field looks like, in July!) Unfortunately, I didn't know that Lou Pinella was a boxer!

Let's hit the ball boy's, not each other!!!!

Oye vey....

Pinella must be cousins to George Bush and like fighting...that's all I have to say about it....

Anyway...

It's fathers day....a quiet one, a freaking HOT one. I would have liked to go out on the boat, but, it's just too hot to put that much effort into it. Plus, Mom would have wanted to go, and I spent last fathers day with her....this one was for me.

Got Ben an aebilskeiver pan. Cast Iron, I guess in case I ever need a weapon! Now I'll finally get to taste what I have heard about for the last 29 (almost) years. His grandmother, who I thought was born in Germany, was actually born in Denmark...she had a Danish mother, and a German father. Before moving to the US they did live in Germany, so most of her dishes over the years were a combination of Danish and German cooking....hummm

An aebliskeiver is a danish pastry of sorts (sort of a pancake ball)...Ben's Grandmother used to put a chunk of apple in the center so she called it "Ferden" or "Furden" whatever the German word for Apple is.

Ben seemed to like his pan...I guess I won't know until he actually makes us a batch of aebliskeivers....

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!