Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:46 a.m. - 2006-11-05
All Saints day
My mother won.

I woke up at 8:30 this morning, got up, on a freaking Sunday and headed to Church.

It was All Saints day where they read the names of the members of the congregation who had passed away during the last year.

I received the letter from the Church about this last week...and I just knew I would be the "family representative" It would have been a long walk from Texas for the old woman!

What I don't get, is how my dad, a man I never remember seeing in a church except at grandkids baptisms and weddings was a member of the Church? What I don't get, is how the man who never stepped foot in that church after arresting the minister for drugs and drinking back in the 60's (except for my kids eagle Scout court of honors) can be recognized by the church as a member...(oh those dark day's of the 60's!) But, I guess....in the end...it all comes out in the end..

My Church experiences are few as well...I was baptized Methodist. Went to Sunday School in my early years Methodist, (then the arrest happened) and I attended the Christian church with my friends...Got Married and Confirmed in the Lutheran Church, baptized my kids Lutheran, and then was kicked out of the Lutheran Church because I didn't regularily attend..(I believe it was because I didn't regularily give money!) I guess, like my dad, I believe that God exists in our heart, and in our home...and I chose to worship him in my own way...silently... On the Lake....in a campground.... looking out at the scenery on a fall drive...in the mountains... or even in my own back yard.

But, for today, I sat and listened as the name Doug Clark was read, a chime was played and a tear fell from my eye.

My mother won, and even if I never have to tell her I was there, she'll know...cause that church was full of OLD people!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!