Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:32 a.m. - 2006-10-22
Texas trip
We're home

I've discovered traveling 2800 miles with my husband wasn't so bad. Until the last 100...once we hit Iowa we both kinda sunk into a funk....and I started snapping....Damn it, it was his fault that we didn't take I-35...he chose to take the stop and go highway 65...Not me!

Anyway, we left home on Thursday the 12th of October to take MammaSan back to her winter home in Texas. We took the hilly scenic highway 7 in Arkansas which was really quite pretty, but had it been a week later would have been gorgeous. It took 4 hours to travel the total of 60 miles...but it was worth it. Saving grace here, was that Ben decided that we would travel the first half (23 miles on the first day) so it was broken into two parts by a nights stay in Russellville Arkansas.

Arkansas...what can I say. I remember sending Dee and Theresa a text message telling them you know you're in the Ozark Mountains when you can feel you're chin hairs grow. At the end of the Highway 7 scenic drive was Hot Springs Arkansas...a quick drive through showed us the now closed buildings that used to be home of the Hot Spring spas....wonder why they are closed? Hot Springs also boasts that they are the birthplace of President Bill Clinton...makes sense to me!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting We hit Texarkana at around Noon on the second day...where I tasted my first Sonic Drive in "Evah!" and was also the end of my weight watchers lifestyle for the next week....(and the damage seems to be 8 lbs!) We traveled to Victoria, TX that day...and stayed in what my mother considered the "BEST Super 8" at one time...Now...well, even Super 8 has sold it! can we say RAT TRAP FLEA BAG MOTEL!

Anyway, we arrived in Donna TX on Saturday the 14th at around Noon, spent the next two day's getting work done around the house that has been put off for years while dad was so sick, and adapting to the hot humid weather of the deep south! (figures...we're there on the hottest week of the season!)

We spent time at Padre Island, which was explained in my last post...ask Dee it still makes me laugh! Padre Island...beautiful, but a tourist trap.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting The highlight of my trip was our jaunt into Progresso Mexico on Wednesday. Loved it. I realized the type of conditions that the people that come to Iowa from Mexico were leaving in a matter of seconds...

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Notice the dirty streets...those were paved. But also notice the use of color on all the buildings..there were street urchin's runing up to the old people begging for money eveywhere..it was sad...poverty at it's worse. Yet, people of Mexico are proud of their country and leave there to make it better for their family. Loved my shopping there. even tho it lasted only a few minutes...cause old women get tired and cranky in 100 degree heat.

Okay, so I'm giving an overload of my vacation...I need to get laundry done, so I'll come back and post more later!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!