Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:14 a.m. - 2006-09-23
a dry cleaners nightmare
The CBS morning show this morning had a segment on dry cleaning. I was intriged.

Showed some big fancy New York Dry Cleaner who didn't even know how to bag the clothes he was pretending to bag. He placed the pants on the pole, and pulled the bag down over them, then tried to take the pants off the pole without tearing the poly at the top. I saw the embarassment in his eyes. I'm sure he never bag's clothing in his fancy joint.

Then they talked about Dry Cleaners responsibility. I have to agree, that a dry cleaner should own up to his/her mistakes. But, who's to blame when the garment is bad when it come in? Usually the customer is aware of it, but in some instances they don't know themselves. Yes, I agree that it's the counter person's responsibility to go over the clothing with the customer, and I too tend to hurry through the orders when I'm checking them in. Guess it just means that we need to take our time with each customer, note stains/holes when the garment comes in BEFORE the customer leaves the door. We all know this, yet we tend not to do it.

I believe we do a pretty good job here of putting out the best possible product that we can, but, there are just some clothes that need to hit the garbage can instead of the dry cleaning machine. Those are the clothes that mean the most to the customer however. And, it's good to know, not that I've ever considered it, that we are not a clean and bang type drycleaner.... But, there are some stains...usually something a customer has put away for a season that suddenly appeared before bringing it in to the cleaner that just won't come out, no matter how hard we try or how much effort we put into the piece.

I guess in my opinion a good dry cleaner should worry more about the quality and not the quantity of clothes you put out....but then on the business side. quantity pays the bills.

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!