Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:05 p.m. - 2006-09-02
40 some day's!
Got the bug today to start planning the October trip to Texas. Maybe it's the thought of getting rid of mother for a few months...or maybe it's the thought of getting away for a few days.

Went to Map quest and found the route to the hillbilly mountains of Arkansas that we're going to take. Just need to decide if we're going to drive 8 hours the first day or only 6. If we drive 8 hours, it will be a later start the next morning, as I'm told that we need to wait to let the fog burn off in the mountains to be able to see anything. I'm thinking....it's Arkansas...how high are the mountains??? If it's 6 hours, then we may as well stop at my brothers lake house in Missouri and avoid the first night hotel fees...I suppose that would depend on if they're there at the time.

Then after making it through Arkansas, we're going to go down the east coastline of Texas so I can see Houston and Galviston...(been there, done that, why doesn't she remember sending me down there my senior year) and on down the coast of the gulf of Mexico...which should be pretty and see Padre Islands. Looking forward to that.

Then after settling mom in her winter home, and a day trip into Mexico...(yes, Thelma....blanket for you!) we'll make our way back up north. Who know's which way we'll come that time...but I want to avoid Oklahoma at all Costs! I hate Oklahoma!

I'm betting the first day traveling will be the shortest....cause then I'll want to get her to Donna! Put the pedal to the Metal! Now, if the calendar would only cooperate!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!