Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:09 a.m. - 2006-07-08
sappy morning
Today, I'm a retired Parent.

No, that doesn't mean I'm giving up being a mom, it means, that officially, my job of raising kids is done. It's a bittersweet moment for me.

Two years ago, when little Matty and I couldn't see eye to eye in ANYTHING I would have given anything for this day to be here. But, today, that's not the case.

Both my boy's grew up to be very wonderful individuals, as much different as night and day, but exactly alike in other ways. They would never admit that, and probably will never be best of friends, but they will always be brothers.

I'll be the first to admit that I pushed a bit hard for my boy's to do certain things. Things that someday, hopefully,they will be glad they did. I hope they also see the opportunities that their dad and I gave them, and the things that they learned from them. Sure, all our decisions weren't always the best.. Bens desire to visit the brewery while vacationing in Colorado comes to mind..or the paper mill in Minnesota. But, we all learned from them...didn't we? And the boy's will not make the same mistakes with their kids...but, they will make others! That's a fact.

Giving up the control is hard, and now, when we offer to do something, and are told we're not needed, or it's not necessary, it's like a million little pin pricks in our heart....but we know...the boy's are strong, they're hard workers, and they'll survive without us.

So, like I said in the begining, I'm retireing from Parenting today...next step...is figuring out what the hell I'm going to do with Ben...

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!