Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:39 p.m. - 2006-06-09
another sappy post
I remember when I was a little girl, getting to go to Grandma's house with all the aunts and Uncles and Cousins. It was wonderful. Christmas at Grandmas was spectacular. Even tho I would walk out of there with Maybe a ceramic bedpost gum holder, or a bag of fruit it was fun to be able to spend the day playing with everyone. Grandma had a big family, 6 children, 4 of which were married at the time, and 14 grandchildren, and I'm surprised now that I think back on it that we were all able to fit in that little house.

Grandma died 25 years ago...and it had been many, many years before that, that those wonderful Christmas's happened. All her granchildren grew up, had kids of their own, and nobody came home at the same time anymore. I guess that's normal...and sad.....

This Sunday, all those cousins, aunts and uncles are getting together for another one of those old fashioned family times. Minus Grandma, a couple of uncles or so, and my dad. Sure, a few cousins won't be able to make it, but the majority will be there.

All this came about at my dad's funeral, when they realized that the only time the family gets together anymore is when someone dies. So, my cousin, who has breast cancer herself, is doing something about it, and planned this family picnic for this Sunday. I feel obligated to go, don't ask me why....my older brother wanted to go, cause he's all into that geneology stuff, and my middle brother was guilted into going, because the other two of us are. I'm not sure I'm ready for this. It hasn't been long enough. My aunt from Canada, who was unable to get back for dad's funeral will be there. It's going to open up emotions that I've been fighting so hard to get under control, so as not to bore, or scare my own family. In a way it's like slicing that wound open again.

Grandma would be happy that most of the family was getting together....She's got her son's,Dad,Uncle Denny, Uncle Stan,and my cousin's Stanley and Leslie and her son in law Russ all with her now, and she's probably busy preparing lunch for them to have at the same time.

So, Sunday, I'll be heading to that reunion.....kleenex in my pocket!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!