Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 a.m. - 2002-08-18
Rants on two way streets
Good morning,

In a slight panic when I got on here, and my buddy list was gone, but checked back a bit later and it was back.

In case you missed my review of the new Bluejay Cafe in town, It's wonderful. I will definetly be spending alot of Saturday nights there. It's so nice to have a resturant back in the ole Pucci's place. And what a Thrill to have a more homey type food place to eat. Next week we'll have a time deciding if we want to go back there, or try out the Club House Grill that is supposed to open Tomorrow. I say the grill, cause I've been to the Cafe.

Okay, time for a rant on the two way streets in this town.

WHO IN THE HELL HAD THEIR HEADS UP THEIR ASSES? What in god's name do they think they are going to accomplish. I'm sorry, two way streets in downtown Perry, WILL NOT bring business back to the town. WILL NOT make it shopper Friendly. WILL NOT relieve the congestion (DIDNT KNOW WE HAD ANY) of traffic. Thirty years ago, when there was Many more businesses in the downtown area, the city administration (which at that time didn't include a City Administrator) decided that one way traffic would aleive the congestion caused by too much traffic in downtown. Plus there was the People living in the apartments downtown, that were awakened at night to kids Honking at each other in the normal kids recognition rite. (Don't think kids do this anymore) Plus then they would stop in the middle of traffic and talk. Yep, this could still happen. But, 30 years later, a four lane highway led people to shop quicker and with a bigger selection in Des Moines. Taking all the retail with them...You can get anything you want, furniture, clothing, computers, all within a 20 min drive to Des Moines. Maybe what Perry needs are specialty shops, to go with the "HOTEL" Something for their "tourists" to shop at. Cause the rest of us won't spend that kind of money here. This is bad, I'm a business person, I should be on the side of keeping people in Perry. But I'm against this administration and their STUPID ideas. I guess I'm against change. IF YOUR GOING TO CHANGE to two way streets, why not CHANGE THEM ALL! Just my .02. Who's gonna read it here.

Okay, enough rant for this week. By the way...the hotel finally fixed thier hole...I was getting worried, took me back 20 years to Perry State Bank's hole. That took almost 2 years to fill. Whew...got lucky there.

Well, gonna go, find something to do. Gonna have Bananna French toast for lunch...Yummy....hot banana bread!

Hugs

Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!