Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:34 p.m. - 2006-12-16
2006 Christmas letter
Okay,as per tradition, Christmas Brag letter 2006.

It's that time of year again, People are smiling, singing Christmas Carols, and out getting drunk at their office Christmas parties. It's time once again, to send out the yearly brag letters and let people know how you're year has been, since you last actually had any contact with them.

2006 wasn't the best year for me Of course, losing a parent, no matter how old you are is hard. It doesn't matter if they are 39, 49, or 79, when they die a part of you goes with them. Yet, life goes on, the family structure changes a bit more, the child becomes the caretaker to the remaining parent, and you continue to miss the parent that passed everyday, every minute...every second. Time goes on, you talk about it less and less, you find other way's to express you're feelings...but the fact that they are gone is still there, waiting to come out at any given moment.

Ben's year was filled with work, as usual. He helped me learn to do a mosaic birdbath, which is beautiful. He takes care of his mom, and bought her house so she could continue to live in the assisted living. His hair is a little thinner, a bit greyer, but he was there, when I needed him....which, I guess is why I married him all those years ago.

Dusty and Rachael FINALLY tied the knot,in a gorgeous outdoor wedding on the most beautiful spring day Iowa has ever seen! I finally have a daughter! Oh, boy, Howdy, have I've waited a long time for one of those! And that grand puppy Zelda is one hot puppy!

Matt bought a house in Boone, moved out in July. Leaving my home empty of children for the first time in 24 years. I can't tell you how I cried the day he moved out, and how people told me that I would get used to it, and of course, I did. But, I don't LIKE it!

Our Friend Greg is spending Christmas in Iraq. Which with my political beliefs I find untolerable. But, I pray, (yes, I really do) every night that he comes home to Dee and the Kids soon, that this nightmare in Iraq will end. And that Bush somehow has to pay for his actions.

So Christmas 2006, is a little different. But, it's still Christmas, and by God, I'm going to have a good one if I have to get Drunk to do it!

Hugs
Candy Mounds

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!