Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 a.m. - 2006-07-29
Political rants of an old woman
Today's Rants....and they do tie together somehow!

Rant 1

I run a small business. A small business that has been highly effected by the Bush Administration and their lack of interest in the economy. The price of gas skyrockets every day. I blame this on Bush and his oil loving cronies. The cost of home heating for next winter is already being shoved down our throat, yet we spend billions of money a year sending men and women to the middle east to protect our freedom....freedom from what? The man who was directly responsible for the acts of 911 still lies hidden somewhere in Afghanistan out of the reach of our military experts (Do we EVER hear about those efforts? Are they being hidden away on page 20 of the newspapers?)...while we play in the big sandbox trying to free a country who may or may not have been harboring weapons of mass destruction. I guess it's what we chose to believe. I for one, believe its all a personal vendetta of Bush's because it made his daddy the laughing stock of the world and belittled the first Bush's administration. So what's worse, a president who wanted to stick his penis in an interns mouth or a president who is sticking his penis in our ass?

Rant two

I can see the reason the democrats are pushing for this minimum wage increase, it only makes sense to me...that putting more money out in the economy would help these people that are living on minimum wage jobs...But, there are two sides to this coin, and the powers that be are simply not seeing the view of the small business person.

While I would generally love to pay my girls what they deserve, I simply cannot afford to....While the volume of clothing we take in is down, and the price to clean is way up, my bottom line is barely getting by.... This is going to mean a rather sizable increase in the cost of getting clothes cleaned in this small Iowa mom and pop store. I'm sure the people in rural Iowa aren't going to understand that fact, especially the old people that think they DESERVE a senior citizen discount....WHY? (but that's another rant)...so sizable increase in cost=less volume of clothes to be cleaned + higher wages spells a recipe for disaster for me.....

Sigh...don't bash me, everyone is entitled to their opinion, if you didn't want to hear mine, then you shouldn't have read this, besides, I've already got a headache, and with any luck I'll only have it for 853 more days! Can we hold on?

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!