Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:00 p.m. - 2006-07-27
let me fall asleep
Last night, Ben and I went up to the lake to take the broken boat off. I asked Ben, if I would be of any help, since I've never helped with this boat. He assured me I would be fine. I should have known better!

We now have a son who lives less than 10 miles from said Boat, who, already had told me that when dad needed to get the broken, god forsaken thing off the lake would be glad to drive out and help....

But, remember, Ben said I would be fine.

A 20 ft pontoon is not easy to wrestle. Luckily there were no prevailing winds..(should have taken a fishing pole since I'm sure the winds weren't out of the North! The back end kept floating off the trailer before the front end was properly aligned. Ben finally wraps a rope around the dock post at the back of the boat....and has me on the boat pulling the rope to keep the back end where he wanted it. Unfortunately, he was not thinking at the same time he would be pulling the front of the boat up onto the trailer....I'm pulling one way...he's pulling the other...guess who was stronger. I finally let go of my rope before he pulled me into the lake....but I gave a good fight in this tug of war! I'm sure the fishermen, who were waiting to use the dock to pull their boats out of the water ( I know there is a euphemism there somewhere) thought this was some sort of Laurel and Hardy type film.

So, today, my arms hurt from the tugging, my back hurts from not getting off the boat while it was still docked...and waiting for it to be pulled out of the water, therefore, making the distance from the deck to the ground a whole lot further....and I'm craving carbs after the cookie ice cream sandwich I made Ben buy me to make up for NOT calling Matt!

Woe is me....and I want to fall asleep here at work....5:30 can't come soon enough!

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!