Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:28 p.m. - 2006-05-28
Memorial day Sunday drive
Well, If I have anything to say about it, I'm done with my daughterly duties for a month! (but in reality, it's probably more like the rest of this month....and today is the 28th!

Took mom to Des Moines to find her sister's grave. I've been there a couple of times over the 32 years that aunt Phyllis has been gone, but, I really had no idea where to look. And, mom....well, all she could think was she was in Section M. After about 20 minutes of looking mom realized that we were on the wrong end of section M, that things didn't look right to her. (She's gone EVERY YEAR!) So, once we got to the other end, there she was, right where we left her. Ben cleaned up the stone some, cleaned off the grass that was growing around it, and swept it off with the wisk broom that mom kept in the van, and we put the 2.00 fake flowers out, and paid our repects, and left. Called Dusty and Rachael and asked them to go eat at IHOP!

Man, was I stuffed when I left there, I had the country omlette made with Egg beaters, and 1/2 of a stack of 3 pancakes...couldn't eat anymore if I'ld wanted too. Mom thought I was eating healthy, ordering the egg beater omlette...till I informed her what they gave me should have served a family of 4! Bad WW day...

Then we stopped at Target, where I got ink to make the printer work, and came on home,dumped Ben off, went and picked up Colleen, and took her to Boone to put flowers on her mothers grave. She was feeling bad that she couldn't get there, and didn't want to drive up there alone, so, I told mom, that I would take her up....(using mom's van and mom's gas, of course) She's done so much for my mom since Dad died, I thought it was the least I could do. So, took care of that, took them and showed them the house that little Matty is trying to buy, shopped at WalMart and headed home....I thought.

Then "we" decided we should go take a look at the boat on the lake after yesterday's winds...(cause Iowa has winds now, ever blowing, never ceasing winds!) Drove through Don Williams, showed Colleen the campground and the lake, and stopped to talk to Wally, a friend of mom and dad's from way back in their camping days. I thought we would never get back home.

It's so freaking hot, I was so glad I wasn't working today, but, know that day's like that are soon going to be upon us....

Think I'll find some ice cream for supper! That ought to cool me off...I deserve it, after my day...doncha think?

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!