Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 p.m. - 2005-07-16
vacation from hell
Once again, Home again, home again.

And what a week....I was begining to think that it was going to be the Griswalds at Don Williams when we first started out.

First, Grandpa, dropped the 5th wheel camper on the truck, and dented the bed of the truck pretty badly.

Then when we get up to the lake, Grandma and Grandpa INSIST that we go over before they leave and make sure the boat starts up. (we've never had to do that in the past, but eh, every year is a new something with those old people!) We get over to the dock where the boat sits for all but one week of every summer, and when they locked it up, they somehow got two padlocks that didn't have the same key....and they only had one key (or so they thought) So Ben was on his way back to his truck to get a hacksaw to cut the other padlock, (which my father was pissed off about) and all of a sudden my mother remembered that the other Key was on the boat key's...Sure enough, Dad opens up the other lock and the boat is free....well, I call Ben, tell him the boat is free, put my cell phone in my pocket, and get on the boat. Dad gets in the drivers seat, and forgets that the boat is no longer tied up to the dock, and we're floating towards the boat next to us...

I decide to jump off the boat and on to the dock to hold the boat till Ben gets there, (I'm sure you see where this is going..) Well, I have one leg on the dock, and one leg on the boat, and nobody is paying attention....the boat keeps drifting further and further from the dock....

and I'm doing splits...

There was only one place for me to go.....

and the water was nice..84 degree's nice.

Unfortunately, instead of the 3 ft of water I was expecting when I jumped, it was 10 ft of water....when I finally surfaced, my glasses were gone, and I couldn't get back out of the water till Ben got there to help hoist me back up into the boat....Remember where my cell phone was?

So, I figure, I'm out one pair of 400.00 glasses, and one cell phone. We Call the Son of the Week, and he and Andy run up with another pair of glasses for me....and go diving....and believe it or not, came up with my glasses!!!! He's earned Son of the week for several weeks with that stunt! But, earned 100.00 for it! My cell phone, I figured was a goner, but, after drying out over night, and recharging the battery everything but the display seemed to work on it, then miracle of miracles, after leaving it set in the Sun all day the display was working again...probably severely disrupted the life of that cell phone, but certainly made me a believer in an LG phone!

Finally the old people left, and we got down to the business of having a vacation....and it turned out to be a pretty good one...I walked, for the first day...got in over a mile, but hurt something in the back of my leg going up the killer hill, so didn't walk as far on Tuesday....then never walked again.....shame on me.

But, I did swim!!! LOL

Hugs
Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!