Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2004-08-08
Bad people.
I'm torn between writing an entry about what happened last night at a meeting I was shangheid into going too, or blowing it off and getting it out of my mind....well, remember what's written here, stays here?

I was chosen to be on a committee to sift out information about a recent scout outing that turned out very badly. All the scouts were sent home from this out of state camp, by their adult leaders. A parent contacted the local scout office and asked for an investigation into the matter. I wasn't prepared for what I heard!

All the years I've been a scout mom, my boy's have come home with some pretty fascinating stories. BUT, NEVER have I felt the jolt I felt last night. I was prepared to go into the meeting to discuss the boy's behavior...not the ADULTS! In the past I've heard stories of the Adults yelling at the kids because the kids were out of control, once an entire age group of boy's CLOSE to their Eagle rank almost left the troop, because of a leader, But, again, that was over the behavior, and disagreement of how bad the kids behavior was. None of those boy's were sent home.

Scouting has implemented some child protection rules designed to not only protect the boy's, but to protect the adults with the boys. These Rules were thrown out the window somewhere between our Church and the camp they went to...I'm not saying any physical abuse was going on...no way Jose! But, Mental, verbal abuse...words that NO adult should ever say to any child. Trust has broken down here, I saw fear, hurt, anger in the eyes of the boy's that were interviewed last night. We got a pretty good cross section of the boy's to interview..7 out of 9. It would have been very intereresting to hear the views of the other two, but, for whatever reasons they couldn't or wouldn't make the meeting. I'm sure it was very intimidating to the young boy's to sit in a room with his parents, his scout master, men from the district committee, as well as two local committee member and two of us past committee members. One boy broke down in tears telling his story...There was truth in his eyes. And as a mother, I can distinguish truth from lies in the eyes of the child....trust me...you learn.

Five hours of my life went into this procedure...and then several sleepless hours last night. I know the correct decisions were made...and now, I have to help the troop learn from this experience...somehow...

And, ya know....I knew this was going to happen sooner or later...I just hoped it would be later, when another set of parents were in control....

Hugs Candy

P.S. It's not a slime watch...but its a Shrek watch sitting on my counter! I'm surprised Little Matty doesn't want it....my baby has grown up.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!