Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:02 p.m. - 2002-10-20
A long Sunday
For awhile today, for just a brief moment, I knew the fear of watching someone die. The call came at 5:30 a.m. that Ben's mom was in serious trouble. Now, just a few weeks ago we were told that if she went into this respiratory distress again,she probably wouldn't make it. We've watched her grow stronger and stronger since then, but still weak and haggard. So when this call came, I knew without a doubt that I needed to be with Ben. I've alway's felt bad that I couldn't be with him at the time of his dad's death. We waited and waited, watching the life go out of this woman, watching her eye's flit around the room, yet not seeing any of us. We watched the monitor that showed us her heart rate fly at 160-190 beats per minute. I watched the line on the monitor go flat...and wonder how long can this poor woman suffer! But then, as if someone turned on a light switch, I watched her wake up! She looked at all of us and I thought, this is it, someone once said that they get better before they go...but she's a fighter. She shook her finger at Ben's brother-in-law and told him he needed to get to the corn field and finish picking his corn. Then me, she ordered into the chair beside her to hold her hand. She came out of it, this time...but I'm afraid it left her weaker and weaker...next time, we won't be as lucky.

Hugs to everyone

Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!