Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:57 p.m. - 2002-07-31
coffee cup madness
Okay, I've been thinking and thinking how to tackle this topic. I haven't the faintest clue...but here go's.

My husband has been a employee of the State of Iowa for 25 years +. First 10 years with the Liquor department, and then the last 15 with the DOT. Anyway, the other day, before leaving on his trip, he received this box from personel. It was so important, that Steve had Bob run it in to Ben. When opened out came a green mug with gold paint around the top and lettering about being a 25 year employee of the state of Iowa. Nice...sure....MY GRIPE on this, is 25 years and all you get is a stinking coffee cup? IS this so as a DOT employee you have coffee to stay awake on those long winter nights of snow removal? or do they want you to drink so much coffee that they have to fire you for being in the bathroom so long, thus, eliminating another STATE EMPLOYEE with out layoffs. (I'll have to tell Ben to watch out for the last one.) I just have to wonder, my tax dollars being at work here, just how much these coffee cups cost, and wouldn't it have been put to better use as say a years wages for an employee that is SEVERELY needed, but was layed off in the "reorginization"? Just my 2 cents...and I'll probably get him fired, But at least, he can drink coffee!

Hugs and Kisses

Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!