Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:32 p.m. - 2002-06-20
goodbye George
Hello. Just a sec, before I get into my normal rants and rages, I want to take a few lines to write about a wonderful older gentleman, who was taken from us today. George. George was 93 years young, and up until 2 months ago, was a very active 93 year old man. Although he was legally blind, George was a bowler. He alway's knew just where to put the ball, and knew from the sound of the pins what he left standing. With a little help from his spectators telling him which pin or pins were left, he would line up and pick up spares that those of us who could see couldn't easily do. George was an inspiration to many young bowlers...and a friend to us older ones. On a personal note, George also was a very good friend to me, he would come in to the cleaners and sit while waiting for the home care services bus to pick him up and take him home, and fill us full of story's that we never would have known, if it hadn't been for him. Like our town having a KKK and who was the leader. Who was the first person in Perry to have the automobile...so on and so forth. George, Happy times to you! God Bless.

Well, I showed my husband how well I can keep a secret. Last night he was tapped out in the Boy Scout of America Order of the Arrow ceremony. I've known about this since February when the committe voted for him. I kept quiet...only a very few people knew...and I didn't write it here...cause we know he reads. It's wierd, seeing this ceremony with fake indians running around with fire...luckily they don't trip and burn themselves...and to see a blonde indian...I don't think that's politically correct. Yes, Old men deserve the honor too, and Ben has put in alot of time for the scouts...so I was proud...That's 3 OA members in this house!!!

It's really hot out, we are under a tornado watch...I would like to see some rain, just not a terrible storm. That I could live without.

Gonna try to go do some walking...but I'll have to wait to see if it cools a little bit when the sun is going down.

Thats it for now...

Hugs and Kisses

Candy

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!