Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:04 a.m. - 2002-03-03
80 %
Candy Mounds is on a soapbox. And since she has a bad knee it's gonna be tough to get down.

I was reading in yesterday's Des Moines, register about the signing of the bill for English being the official language for Iowa. Excuse me...I am one of the 80% of YaHoo's in Iowa that believe that this should be the way it is. Maybe because I have to deal with these people on a daily basis...and it's tough...They should have to learn English to exist here...they did back in the 1900's when we had the great influx of people coming to America then...why not now? What's the difference? Besides a few hundred years? I don't even mind the few that come up, butchering the english language telling us the "Mechine no worky." At least they are making an attempt...but when I have to figure out sign language...and 9 times out of 10, it's because they can't read the instructions (Written in English) on the Machine...Thats the one's I can't stand.

My husbands grandmother came from Germany in the 1900's with her mother, Father and brothers and sisters. They knew no English. but they learned. Grandma Mary was very proud of the fact that she learned her english and became an official American citizen...and died speaking very good english. What was the difference? Maybe the fact that when they came to these lands...they intended to stay...blend in...work and make a life here...Today's imigrants are just coming here to work, make money and send it home. They have no intentions of becoming an American Citizen...they are happy with "their country."....Then I say...go back...or learn the English Language..blend in, and be my neighbor. So yes, I am one of the 80% of Iowa Yahoos' that believe these people should learn the English language...I shouldn't have to learn theirs..unless I was moving to their country...

Thats enough...my knee is getting sore holding me up.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!